Season to be jolly

imagesCAIWRR72So, it’s the season to be jolly. Well, for the most part it has of course been lots of fun and games, with the odd bit of turkey thrown in for good measure, along with a glass or two or maybe three of some refined grape drink.

A little or rather a lot of over indulgence has not dampened one’s spirits in everything festive but rather, when you have an estranged ‘partner’ in the family that does present its own problems and flashpoints.

This year, as virtually every year since my daughter was born, it has been the usual battle of wills and who can outdo the other parent in spoiling the little one.  To be honest, I gave up that challenge years and years ago.  Ever since I saw the presents piled half way up the front door, I knew this was one race I was not going to be apart of.  It was bordering on the obscene…no, it was obscene. Mercifully, things have calmed quite considerably since then, but I still don’t really bother to indulge in buying heaps of gifts.

Christmas Eve also saw Ms Brodie prowling the house at all house.  We had all gone to bed around 1am but when I came downstairs for a glass of something at around 2.30, she was still dressed moving furniture placing items under the tree…okay, that’s pretty normal I thought.

But at around 4am when I needed to use the bathroom, she was still there, doing what, I’m not exactly sure and once again at 6.30 when my alarm went off because I hadn’t remembered to switch it off – she was already up.  Had she gone to bed?

This year however, something else quite peculiar happened. Ms Jean Brodie; aka the mother of my child, had joined forces with her parents to buy a Playstation.  An expensive gift one would say, but so too had my parents!  What are the chances of that happening?

Unfortunately, since communication is virtually non-existent in this household – admittedly at my behest – I only discovered this calamity a day before Christmas Eve.  What do you do? Under normal circumstances, one would assume that one of the games would have to be returned and exchanged for a something else, however, my parents had bought the Playstation off my niece for virtually full price as it was only a few months old.  Of course, there is no box, no manual and more to the point, who knows where the receipt is.

So, under these circumstances and since it was agreed that my daughter would say thank you to both sets of grandparents without letting anyone know that she had two video games and that one would have to go back, it seemed obvious that the one purchased by the mother of my child would have to go back and refunded.

No, of course not.  Now, I’m not entirely convinced ‘Ms Brodie’ fully comprehends the situation despite having a university degree and given her poor fiscal comprehension or at least execution, but she is adamant that I should sell my mother’s consol and that she would make up the balance, so she says.  If anyone can explain the logic behind that reasoning, I would most grateful.  It really shouldn’t matter which consol goes back – were they both to have receipts – as both sets of grandparents believe my daughter is playing with their gift…I do hope this is making sense – but since I do not have a receipt it will be down to sell it on eBay or the likes for a considerable loss.

Naturally, this hasn’t gone down too well in my eyes and I kind of let my feelings be known to such effect.  To no avail, moreover, I’m not entirely sure my daughter is fully appraised of the situation: ie, that I have a second consol hidden in my room.

But what is even more concerning and dare I say disturbing is that a few moments after my outburst and obvious anger Ms Brodie complimented me on my cooked ham? It was as though the previous 30 minutes hadn’t happened.  She could see I was fuming at her belligerence and yet, in a matter of minutes she was fawning over things I had prepared for the Xmas Eve celebrations.

Now, I don’t know about anyone else, but I found this deeply creepy if not troublesome.  Is this woman all there I’m wondering? Its not the first time. Im not suggesting for a moment that she is schizophrenic far from it, but her ability to completely ignore a situation or incident is alarming.

Duplicitous is something she does quite well, like volunteering to do all the washing up, something she takes on with relish…when we have guests, I find this most amusing ( I don’t really) or talking with all my family something she only recently started to do but does more so now that I have someone else in my life.

All I’m saying is that I am beginning to have some concerns as to what is going on here: is she a little ‘unhinged’ or is this some clever ploy? I’m none the wiser but am concerned as to what effect this may be having on my daughter.

One thought on “Season to be jolly

Leave a Reply

