Summer Holidays again

Hold the front page! Something truly remarkable happened this summer, something not seen in over a decade: the mother of my daughter actually asked for her passport and took her abroad on holiday for five days!

This was a revelation and something quite new. Not since my daughter was five or six has she been on holiday with her mother – alone and not visiting her grandparents or friends. The last time they went to Corsica and even then, my daughter was left with a child nursery or playgroup all day – not that my daughter was complaining, she loved it. But it did beggar the question: what’s the point of taking your child on holiday only to dump her with someone else whilst you go off to do your own thing?

Taking your child on holiday is a time and place where you can finally spend some quality time together, where memories are created that will hopefully remain with your child forever. So, when her mother asked me for her passport, I nearly choked on my morning toast.

There is a slight caveat however as I don’t know if they were alone or met up with anyone else. I didn’t ask and it hasn’t been volunteered, so I must assume there was just the two of them. This means they spent five days together, the longest time they have spent together – possibly ever. Quite remarkable.

Why now, I wonder? There was also a brief day out earlier that week which was also spent alone. What is going on? Last month, as usual, I took my daughter with my partner for a week’s holiday in the countryside, mercifully, the weather was favourable and a good time was had by all. But this latest development is something new.

The funny thing is; I now hear her mother reference their trip during conversations, which is obviously something she has never been able to do before now. I quietly just smile saying nothing but thinking ‘well, its taken you eleven years or so to be able to talk about a shared experience’.

Is something afoot? Is it because my daughter will, by this time next year, have flown the nest and be ensconced into university life?  Who knows?

 

 

Leave a Reply

