Summer Vacations

So, summer has finally arrived and after our return, my daughter, partner and myself from a week away, I discovered scribbled on the wall calendar a week penciled in by my daughter’s mother.

‘Wow’, I thought. This is the second vacation or trips away in as many years that ‘Miss Jean Brodie’ aka daughter’s mother, has decided to take our daughter away…how come all of a sudden? For virtually all of her life, indeed only once possibly twice before in the last 18 years has she taken her away on their own…ie, not meeting with her friends or parents, which I suspect would mean there would be a baby sitter on hand.

This was highly suspect and I had my doubts. However, they did go away albeit a week later than penciled on the calendar.  I would also like to point out, that at no time was I informed of their trip: where they were going and for how long.

Of course, I don’t know if this is a deliberate ploy to confuse and make any plans I have almost impossible or it’s simply the usual chaotic last minute plans thrown together randomly? They were supposed to have gone away on the Wednesday, then Saturday but in the end, I overheard my daughter and her mother arguing over where they should go. They left the following Wednesday. But in the meantime, I had to cancel a dinner party for the Sunday as most of my friends feel – understandably – uncomfortable coming over with my partner and the mother of my daughter here at the same time.

In the end, they were away for four nights and still I’m bemused by this sudden interest in going away together, if only for a few days. Until that is, a friend came up with a possible and most plausible reason.

My partner and I have been together for 8 years now. Every year we have gone away with my daughter and they get along really well. Couldn’t be any better. They even go out cycling together; something she has never done with her mother, I might point out. However, ever since my partner moved in last year, there has been a noticeable change in ‘Miss Brodie’s’ behavior.  Suddenly, she is taking more interest in my daughter’s hobbies, music etc…it really could be as simple as her mother is trying to exert her motherhood, knowing she is not competing for my daughter’s affection – my daughter loves her mother unconditionally, for all her faults – but my friend suggests she feels threatened by my partner’s closeness to my daughter. It wasn’t a problem whilst we were living apart, but now we are all in the same house. Its changed the dynamics somewhat.

 

Leave a Reply

